Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry– by Mildred D. Taylor

What do think this story is going to be about?  What problems do you think the main character(s) will face?  If you have read this story before, what do you hope to get from it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry– by Mildred D. Taylor

  1. MonicA+ says:

    I think that the main charectors will face problems with racism and discrimination. I also think that they might struggle to pay land debts. The oldest boy Stacy might get teased for being in his mom’s class

  2. amber cox 4th hout says:

    i think this story is going to be about a big forest fire that is going to happen and it will burn all of the crops and their house. i think the main chracters will have to find new land and a new home.

  3. caleb says:

    I think this story is going to be about three kids wanting to get out and do certain things. I think the main characters are going to face decisions through out the story. They are going to be faced with life or death situations.

  4. James 4th hour says:

    i can already tell this book is about an african american family trying to make it through the Depression, it says that on the back, but i can also tell there is gonna be some sort of mystery to it that i havent quite figured out yet. i think that the biggest problem the characters will face will be racial discrimination, just because of the time zone but how should i know, ive only read to page ten. =W=

    • wlacyee says:

      Jimmy,
      Why did you use the weezer sign? And reading the back of the book is no fun!
      -!!Lacyee!!

      • James 4th hour says:

        for one thing, weezer is awesome, and reading the back of the book is informative =W=

      • wlacyee says:

        Well just because of information why don’t you like put it more in your words. And yes it’s OK.

  5. Cole Huff says:

    i think that racisim is going to get involved and then someone starts a fire on theyr ranch.

  6. wlacyee says:

    I’ve read this book before, but when I did, I liked it. I think that this book has a good plot and I hope to get a little more out of it then I did the first time.
    -!!Lacyee!!

  7. Rachelle Foster says:

    What I think the story will be about is the kid’s struggles they have to go through to survive the depression. The probem I think the main character(s) will have to go through would be having to survive the depression

  8. Cierra heard says:

    i think they’re going to face problems with the great depression

  9. Drayton says:

    I think this story is going to be about three kids wanting to do what they want to do and wear what they want to wear. I also think the main charaters are going to have to face life and death situations

  10. Dalton Hosman says:

    I think this story will end up with them getting their house burned down by the white guys and their pa comin back and finding their house burnt down

  11. Joel says:

    I think that this story is going to be some what about racism and that someone is goin to light there land on fire because there not white

  12. Miranda YumTum says:

    I think the story is gonna be about a black family trying to make it through tough times and they will face problems and challenges dealing with race issues. O.o

  13. kylie says:

    I have read this book before and I am wanting to understand the book more. I used to not like to read so now since I like to read I am hoping I enjoy and understand the book more than I did. I have understood the book more with the first ten pages!

    • wlacyee says:

      Kylie,
      I agree with you! Understanding it is better than just getting a little part of the idea. When did you read it?
      -!!Lacyee!!

  14. Summer Jett 4th hour says:

    I think this story is going to be about a girl and her family. The prombles i think they might face is her dad might loose his job and her famliy has to all work together to make ends meet inoder to live.

  15. Destinie Frybarger 4th Hour says:

    I think this story will be about the familys’ house getting burned down by the white people. Some of the problems that I think the characters will face is having to find a new place to live and they will have to find a way to catch the white people so that they won’t burn anymore houses down.

  16. Randy says:

    I think this story is going to be about three kids going to get out and do other things than just go to school. I think the main characters are going to be faced by death situations.

  17. colin 4th hour says:

    I think that this book is going to be about an African American family struggling to pay their land mortages and then someone is going to set a fire to their land. i think the main characters are going to face tough times without their dad there and with racial descrimanation.

  18. Trevor Moore says:

    I think that in this story the fire is going to be blamed on the main characters family and they will have to run from the cops and face hardships. In what I have read so far their problems are that their crops aren’t growing real well and they are upset because school is starting.

  19. I think this book will end up being about racism and descrimination. Ive only read ten pages but from what ive inferred the children will most likely be the center of the story. In the ten pages it tells us that some friends of the characters get burned by white men…..maybe the same happens to the othe children. Who knows? I think this will be a good book!

  20. Laurnea says:

    Ithink this story will be about the familly tring to figure out who the person was that caught all of the berries on fire. The main charaters might face some problems with little man not getting off of the railroad fast enough and the berries cathcing on fire.

  21. Brooke Baker says:

    I think the story is gonna be about a family back in late 1800’s early 1900’s and they have to deal with bandits or robbers? I think that there are going to be problems with racisim.

  22. Austin Marler says:

    I think that the main characters will (be persecuted) becuase of there race, and their land will be burned to the ground. I think they will have problems paying their mortgages because their father will lose his job or die.

  23. kayla kupcake(perkins) says:

    They will face problems with racism and the great depression i think. I have read the first few pages and the main characters have faced hearing about a burning.

  24. Timothy Smith says:

    I think that this story is going to be about an African-American family in the 1930’s having to work hard to keep there land and trying to stay safe. Some Problems I think the main charecters will face is the guy who is burning the people and trying to keep there land.

Leave a comment